RSS

Self-Assessment and Goals

23 Jan

The area I seem to be lacking in is databases.  I’d really like to learn more about those, as it seems to be a back-door into programming.  The rest of those scores are pretty high.  I’ve been online since the mid-90s.  I’ve built websites using HTML and the site I administrate now runs PHP.  I can tweak the code enough to install new modules and keep them from conflicting with each other, but I don’t know enough to build modules of my own.

I transcribe audio from home for a living, so I’ve used all of those skills at some point, many of them every day, even Web development in that I FTP files back and forth.  I don’t use presentation skills though (I don’t know, maybe playing audio files counts) but I’ve taken two public speaking courses across 20 years, and one of my previous employers required all employees to lead group training meetings at some point.

Goals for the course.  Good question.  So far it seems like we’ve discussed the ways technology is used in the library.  We’ve started to learn how the technology is used by starting blogs and wikis, but I’m not convinced yet that these technologies have necessary or vital purposes in the library.  Maybe that’s something I’ll better be able to understand through working in a library, rather than taking a course.

So, I guess my goals for the course are to find out more about what forms of technology really are vital to its operation, the cataloging software, the ordering/purchasing software/process.  How are spreadsheets used in libraries, by the staff, not the patrons?  What is particular to building a website for a library that’s different from building a website for any other organization?  These are kinds of things I’d like to learn from this course.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Self-Assessment and Goals

  1. HoosierLibrarian

    January 27, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I really like the way you approached this response to your assessment. You are probably right that the best way to see how technology is vital in a library is to work in one–but your goals for this course are good ones that I think will be met. Also depending on how broadly we define technology, technology is vital to every library operation, but certainly not every technology.

     

Leave a Reply

 
