RSS

Julian Assange Interviewed by the Brazilian People

28 Jan

Interview:

Julian Assange Interviewed by the Brazilian People.

Awesome reprint of Brazilian interview with Julian Assange, founder of Wikileaks.  This is his most recent interview.  He gave this interview to an independent journalist, who culled the questions from submissions by the readers of her blog.  In it, he discusses the relationship between information control and power.

An excerpt:

It is the gap in knowledge which delineates who is inside the most powerful parts of the state and who is inside the powerful parts of a corporation. The free-flow of knowledge from powerful groups to less powerful groups or individuals is also a flow of power and hence an equalizing and democratizing force in society.

–Julian Assange

So, a question to my classmates: if you care to read the interview, I’m interested to know.  In light of a librarian’s role as gatekeeper of information, what do you think?

Wikileaks:

http://wikileaks.ch/

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2011 in Information Freedom

 

2 responses to “Julian Assange Interviewed by the Brazilian People

  1. Melanie Vess

    January 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Oh boy, I just got through reading Brave New World for a Poly Sci class – so your post brought up issues of knowledge, power, and hierarchies which are the basis of this book. Very stimulating and exasperating subjects! Knowledge is important, and it is most definitely not something I would want to purposefully withhold from anyone as long as that knowledge did not intentionally hurt someone else. I think that is the controversial issue with Assange – is the information he is providing causing harm to others? In this case governments? Civilizations have the right to have some secrets that protect them. As a library employee, I would not divulge our computer passwords or hand out the key to the building in the interest of creating more equal knowledge between patrons and librarians. I realize this is a much simpler example of what Assange has been doing – but I guess I would say there is a line that I personally draw when it comes to being free with information, personally and professionally. I don’t want to hurt another.
    Now, getting back to applying this to libraries, does this mean I would refuse to take someone to the Occult books, because I personally feel the Occult would be harmful to them? No – I would take them because that information is publicly available to all and that’s what they asked of me. However, if someone asked me to recommend books on spirituality, I would take them to the 248 section and introduce them to Graham, Alcorn, MacArthur or Lucado. I wouldn’t go near the occult section or Sylvia Browne. Am I withholding information or knowledge? Perhaps. But that’s what I do. Does anyone else feel the same, or differently? You certainly know how to bring up the controversial subjects, Johanna! 🙂

     
  2. indylibrarytech

    January 29, 2011 at 1:34 am

    I know, lol. Isn’t it fun to try to find new ways to look at things?

    One of the things that surprised me in the article was that he acknowledges the need to keep some information private. The motivation to release information is to counter some of the more destructive and/or harmful reasons for keeping information private.

     

Leave a Reply

 
