RSS

I was told, last week, that I’m a preferred paper-cutter.

20 Aug

It’s a skill, apparently.  When I started volunteering, I was sort of surprised to see the paper-cutter.  I hadn’t seen or used a one since elementary school, and I guess I just kind of assumed they had been replaced by something more technologically snazzy.

Then I was asked to do some die-cutting, and I was directed to one of these:

I’ve known people who scrapbook.  I know that fancy electronic die-cutting machines are pretty inexpensive, only about $200.00.  Everyone knows the card catalog has gone the way of the do-do.  But here are two examples of a library sticking with some pretty outdated technology, even though there’s better and more flashy out there.  Of course, these are things patrons never see.

But this is an example of one strength that public libraries have in competition with for-profit businesses.  Libraries can afford to be more cautious without rushing to fix things that “ain’t broke.”  I could be wrong, but I don’t think a business could get away with this.

Regardless, I got to wondering, what old-school technologies are other libraries still using?  Answer in the comments.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
