RSS

Some thoughts on completing my portfolio

12 May

This was more of an academic portfolio than a professional one.  I don’t think I would have included many of the documents I did if I wasn’t required to provide evidence of specific competencies. Now that school’s finished, I think I’ll need to revise the portfolio soon.

One of the issues I had with the process was that, at the end of each course, I was required to write about which of the course competencies was important and why.  These assignments were to be saved for the portfolio.  But the individual course competencies didn’t really match up with the program competencies.  The program competencies were rather specific, while the assignments I had to support them with could only loosely be applied.  Everything I had, I felt I had to stretch to make fit. Not to mention that fact that the program competencies are also very basic.  They don’t really give an honest indication of the depth of the program.  I think I could have done a far better job with the portfolio if I had been allowed to choose for myself which competencies to highlight.

I also had to wonder about the fact that much of my supporting material involved the answers to review questions and other assignments.  I’m told I’m the first student in the program to create their portfolio online.  But I don’t know if any of the instructors who encouraged me to do so considered that many of the course materials would then be available to other students.

There was something else, too, but I don’t remember now.

Anyway, I guess now that school is over this blog will begin to evolve into a permanent home for my professional stuff.  I plan to continue to post, but the main focus of the blog will pretty specifically become portfolio.  There were so many things I wanted to add that I just wasn’t able to get to.  With no time limit and no defined requirements, I’ll be able to be more selective and turn the portfolio into something I’m happier with.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
