RSS

S401 Proficiency Project 3: Social Media and Participatory Technology

11 Nov

A. Peer Chat

Go back through the class introductions. Identify a person with similar interests and send them email using the Canvas email system. Chat for at least 5-7 minutes about anything you wish. Evidence: The log of your chat is your evidence. You don’t need to do anything else.

Joanna Conrad
Hi, there.
2:17 pm
Joanna Conrad
N?
2:18 pm
N. G.
hi Joanna! Thanks so much for being my partner here, how’s your day going?
2:18 pm
Joanna Conrad
Pretty well, how about yours?
2:18 pm
N.G.
It’s been a super busy day at work. Did you go in today too??
2:19 pm
Joanna Conrad
No, today’s my day off. I’m working on a transcription file, though. Maybe two hours of typing gets me $20.
2:20 pm
Joanna Conrad
Then I can do other things around that, make some money and still feel like I had a day off.
2:20 pm
Joanna Conrad
What do you do?
2:21 pm
N.G.
Oh that’s not bad at all! I always like to find ways to make an extra buck when I get the chance.
2:21 pm
Joanna Conrad
2:22 pm
N.G.
I’m a circulation assistant at the job I’m at today. It can be really stressful depending on people’s moods though, but I’m sure it’s like that everywhere right?
2:22 pm
N.G.
Oh thank you for that link! I will definitely be using that
2:23 pm
Joanna Conrad
I’ll say. You have more than one job? Both in libraries?
2:23 pm
Joanna Conrad
No problem. They’re asking for referrals all the time. Right now is their busy season.
2:23 pm
N.G.
Perfect! and yes I do, as a help desk tech in another library too
2:24 pm
Joanna Conrad
I’ve thought about trying to get a second library job and giving up the typing, but it’s more scheduling hassle than I want to deal with right now. I’ve got a 14-yr-old with his own schedule that I’ve got to accommodate. How are your projects coming? I’m just starting the second. 🙂 I’ve finished all the tutorials, though.
2:26 pm
N.G.
I think one of the only reasons I got the second job was for experience purposes, it really is tough with schoolwork being added on top of it. For this class I just finished the second project and am done with the tutorials too!
2:28 pm
N.G.
I’m super behind on the project for the annotated bibl, io
2:29 pm
N.G.
how far are you with that?
2:29 pm
Joanna Conrad
I’m glad this class is so flexible. It’s really helped to be able to put it off for a while. I’ve only done the three samples for the annotated bib. I’ve got Wed. off, I’ll probably do a chunk of it then. Luckily, it doesn’t have to be finished for peer review. I’ve got another project due Fri. that I haven’t started yet, either. But it’ll get done.
2:30 pm
Joanna Conrad
I think we’ve fulfilled the requirement. Shall I let you get back to lunch?
2:31 pm
N.G.
It is actually just about to end! But thank you for chatting with me (:
2:32 pm
Joanna Conrad
Nice talking to you. Have a great afternoon!
2:32 pm
N.G.
You too! Bye!
2:33 pm
Joanna Conrad
Bye.
2:33 pm

B. Library Talking Points

Add to a class Google Doc in Canvas. Add a talking point and short example of no more than a few sentences to the list. Use the same font as the first talking point, but change the color for your talking point. Add a comment regarding one of the other talking points on the list. Evidence: Your Google Doc addition and comment is your evidence. You don’t need to do anything else.

Talking Point: Libraries improve the quality of life in the communities they serve, even for those who never set foot in a library, whether they realize it or not.  As we help people build resumes, improve literacy, access government services, and complete their educations, those patrons then go out into their communities with new resources and skills, putting them to use in ways that benefit the community as a whole.   – Joanna Conrad

C. Professional Blog

Create a blog using Blogger, Weebly, or Word Press.

Done.

Create an introduction to your blog using Voki at http://voki.com/. Embed this as a posting or as part of your profile. If you have trouble embedding, take a screen capture of the Voki and place the image in your blog. Then, add the link.

Was included in Welcome message at top of page, but removed after grading.

Create a blog posting that discusses your experience using social networks.

I’ve kind of stayed away from social networks, especially Facebook. Their monetization practices, selling user data, are highly intrusive and a violation of privacy rights.  I realize they are important marketing tools for libraries.  However, I feel librarians should be educating users on the practical implications of giving away these rights, rather than encouraging their use.  Because of these privacy issues, I have two Facebook accounts, one professional, the other personal.  I blog fairly often, and cross-post to these networks in hope that more people will see my work.

If you don’t already have a Facebook account, create one. Then, LIKE The School of Informatics and Computing Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/InformaticsIUPUI.

My Facebook profile.

If you don’t already have a Twitter account, create one. Then, join The School of Informatics and Computing Facebook page at https://twitter.com/iupuinformatics.

My Twitter profile.

Compare and contrast two social networks such as Facebook and LinkedIn that you’ve used yourself. What do you see as the value for library and information science professionals? Provide a personal or professional example. Also, include an example from either the IUPUI School Facebook or Twitter postings.

LinkedIn is a much more professional social network than Facebook, intended for making professional social connections, job searching, recruitment, and networking.  LinkedIn allows you to promote professional skills and experience, and your friends to endorse those skills.  Although you could blog and update there if you chose to, most people use it for professional self-promotion.  I have my work and education history posted there, and have connected with many of my coworkers.  Facebook, on the other hand, is more focused on non-professional social interaction, keeping up with friends and family, or posting silly pictures of your pets, for instance.  While my professional Facebook account is connected to my those of my coworkers as well, I am much more likely to see posts about their pets than I am to see them post about their jobs.  Of the two, LinkedIn holds more value for library and information science professionals.  This is not to deny the usefulness of these networks for marketing purposes.  For example the School of Informatics and Computing uses its Facebook page to promote its upcoming events.

Create a blog posting that discusses your experience using a MUVE, an interactive, or gaming technologies. If you’ve never tried a MUVE, talk to someone who has and share their experience. How do you see librarians and/or libraries using these technologies? Provide an example.

I’ve played several MMORPGs quite often, mainly Dungeons and Dragons Online and World of Warcraft.  I enjoy playing them, but they can be resource hogs on computers that aren’t relatively new, and I tend to avoid the social aspect anyway.  To me, interaction online is no different than talking on the phone, without the benefit of visual cues, as avatars often have no relationship to the conversation being had.  While earning my LTA degree, MUVEs like Second Life were promoted heavily as the next big thing that was going to save libraries, but it really turned out to be just a fad.  However, with many libraries adding Minecraft clubs and some libraries going entirely digital, Second Life may be granted a second life.  Maybe this virtual environment was simply ahead of its time.

Create a blog posting that is a book, movie, or app review of your choice. Include an image such as a book cover or screen shot.

Please see my cookbook review blog Dewey641.wordpress.com

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 11, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
